What a night! The Winners of the 2011 Surrey Film Festival!

The Surrey Film Festival finally concluded on Friday June 24 with a packed theater and all the filmmakers. Special guests included Robert Dominick, City Councilor Judy Villenueve, and City Councilor Barbara Steele. Filmmakers and guests walked the red carpet, and were stormed by photographers trying to get a show, and the press hoping to get an interview. Photos from the event will be released shortly! The top films in each category were screened, and the awards were given out at the end of the night. The experimental films were screened on three different screens outside in the reception area. This year’s festival was our biggest festival ever, and it was great to see the huge turnout. It was a historical night as Robert Dominick, President of Lightyear Digital, announced their partnership with the Surrey Film Festival to run the Surrey International Film Festival in January of 2013. Glen Chua, Tim Reyes, and Dave Steele will be the Festival Directors of the event in 2013. The Surrey International Film Festival will bring in films from around the world, including Mainstream Features to Independent Short Films, while keeping a strong student film making aspect. The event will run over a course of three days, and include workshops and award galas. The festival is expected to become one of the City of Surrey’s staple events.  Get your camera’s rolling, and stay tuned for 2013! Here are the winners for the 2011 Surrey Film Festival!



Best Experimental Film: Washing Machine – Earl Marriott Secondary
Cast/Crew: Blake Davey, Julia Thrift, Josh Glen, Ben Avery, Ben Button, Brayden Hall

Best Public Service Announcement: A Choice – Enver Creek Secondary
Cast/Crew: Keith Grant

Best Music/Sports Video: Lunch Time Loop – Fleetwood Park Secondary
Cast/Crew: Stuart Brookes

Best Animation: Odday – Yale Secondary
Cast/Crew: Nikki Segovia

Best Screenplay: Dear Emma – Fraser Heights Secondary
Cast/Crew: Jane Wong, Daniel An, Victoria Stevens

Best Short Film (High School): Ken – Earl Marriott Secondary
Cast/Crew: Brett McCrady, Ben Avery

Best Short Film (Post Secondary): Mandriod – Simon Fraser University
Cast/Crew: Dylan Innes

Best of the Festival: Washing Machine – Earl Marriott Secondary
Earl Marriott Secondary once again receives the Best of the Festival trophy, marking the first time a school has won the award back to back! Washing Machine won the Best Experimental Film as well as Best of the Festival and received the grand prize of $500. In a surprise announcement, Robert Dominick announced that all the top films in each category will be screened at the Emerging Filmmakers Forum in Beverly Hills, California and be showcased to some Hollywood producers. For any aspiring filmmaker, this is a chance of a lifetime. Congratulations once again to the winners of the 2011 Surrey Film Festival, and we will see you in 2013! Keep those camera’s rolling!